1. Computing

Discuss in my forum

How to Delete iPhone Data and Settings

By

1 of 5

How to Delete iPhone Data
delete iphone, step 1

There are a few circumstances in which you'll want to delete your iPhone data and settings, restoring the phone to its factory-new condition. These circumstances include when:

  • You're selling or giving the iPhone away
  • The phone is being sent for repairs and you don't want your personal data available to prying eyes
  • Your phone is so messed up that it needs to be erased and set up again from scratch.

It's a drastic step, of course, because deleting all the music, apps, email, and settings from your phone--unless you backed it up, that is-–you won't get it back. Still, in situations like those described above, it can be necessary.

You can delete your iPhone either when your phone is synced or through onscreen commands. Whichever process you choose, always begin by syncing your iPhone to your computer, since this creates a backup of your data. With that, you'll be able to easily restore your data and settings to a new phone.

To delete your iPhone when it's synced, click the "Restore" button in the Version section of the iPhone management screen and follow the onscreen instructions.

To delete your iPhone on the phone itself, click the "Next" link below.

See More About
Related Video
How to Restore Your iPhone
When You Get an iPhone
  1. About.com
  2. Computing
  3. iPhone / iPod
  4. iPod & iPhone Support
  5. iPhone Help
  6. How to Delete iPhone Data and Settings

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.